Articles Posted in Driver’s License Restoration

On the evening of Saturday October 25, 23-year-old Herbert Granados Calderon of Santa Ana was driving southbound and allegedly ran a red light, resulting in a tragic accident. As Calderon went through the red light at Central Avenue and Bristol Street, he broadsided a Honda which caused the Honda to collide with a pickup truck. One person was left dead and five were injured, according to a news article at KTLA 5. traffic-lights-1227798-m

18-year-old Robert Rubio, a passenger in the Honda, was pronounced dead at the scene of the accident. Two other passengers in the Honda as well as Calderon and three of his passengers were injured. Passengers of Calderon’s vehicle sustained only minor injuries.

It was found by police that Calderon was driving with a suspended license; he was also arrested on charges of DUI and vehicular manslaughter. Calderon’s license had been suspended previously for DUI, according to a Santa Ana Police Department news release.

Recently, a Village of Tall Trees woman was arrested after it was determined her driver’s license had been suspended three times. According to an article at the Village News, 37-year-old Stacey Lynn Walker was arrested on Friday evening after someone notified the sheriff’s office regarding a suspicious vehicle. cruising-1430324-m

The Sumter County Sheriff’s Office responded to the report, and after driving in the vicinity of County Road 462 and NE Second Drive, located the vehicle. A deputy noticed that the driver of the vehicle and a passenger were not wearing seatbelts. After pulling the vehicle over, the deputy found that Walker’s driver’s license had been suspended three times. She was taken to the Sumter County Detention Center.

While it is not known why Walker’s license had been suspended three times, driving on a suspended license is serious. In the state of Michigan, someone’s driver’s license may be suspended due to non-payment of child support, outstanding traffic tickets, a drug conviction, DUI, or for other reasons.

Did he or didn’t he? Some believe he did, others won’t say whether Arizona special interest lobbyist Fred DuVal has driven on a suspended driver’s license this year after his license was suspended following numerous traffic tickets . The license suspension period began in mid-June and lasted to September, according to news sources. DuVal did file to have his driver’s license reinstated earlier this month. 1-1430625-5-m

The AZ Daily Sun reported that DuVal’s license was suspended for failure to pay a $20 fee for a red-light violation, although he did go to traffic school and pay a fine. When asked if DuVal had driven on a suspended license, press aide Geoff Vetter said only that there is someone who works on DuVal’s campaign who picked him up in the morning and drives him home at night following campaign events. Vetter said that he was not going to call DuVal and ask whether he took his young son to Dairy Queen on Sunday.

Another news article at AZ Central reports that DuVal, who is the Democratic nominee for governor of Arizona, did drive while his license was suspended – but that he had no idea it had been suspended. In December of 2013, DuVal made a right-hand turn at a red light without coming to a complete stop, according to consultant Rodd McLeod, who also said that DuVal paid the ticket, but failed to pay the $20 fee required to reinstate his driver’s license. McLeod said that while DuVal did drive a few times, he had no idea his license was suspended.

On Monday, September 29, it was announced that Hartselle, Alabama Mayor Don Hall would have his driver’s license suspended beginning this month and lasting until January after his September 5 DUI., according to Al.com. Hall was initially given a temporary license. gettin-on-6160-m

The mayor was arrested in Limestone County in early September after troopers received reports about an erratic driver. Hall refused to submit to a breathalyzer test at the time of his arrest. As far as how Hall intends to fulfill his duties as mayor during the suspension period, Hall said that, “I have people who are willing to offer their help and support when the time comes.”

Hall is scheduled to be arraigned on October 16 on a misdemeanor charge of driving under the influence.

On Tuesday, September 23, Michigan Governor Rick Snyder signed a new law that will essentially make it possible for some motorists to perform community service, rather than paying off old driver responsibility fees. This new law will apply to motorists who were assessed a two-year driver responsibility fee in addition to payment of a traffic ticket for driving without proof of insurance or a valid driver’s license, according to a news article at Mlive.com. The new law was proposed by Senator Bruce Caswell, R-Hillsdale. pickup-31065-m

In announcing the signing of the bill, Governor Snyder said that “While we are ultimately phasing out driver responsibility fees, this program gives Michiganders the opportunity to give back by volunteering as an alternative way to pay their fines.”

Michigan driver’s license restoration attorneys know that many people have their licenses suspended due to DUI offenses, failure to pay child support, and for other reasons. However, many people drive without a valid license, believing they will not get caught. While many do not, many motorists DO get caught driving on a suspended license. This will result in a $500 fine for a first-time offender, along with a driver responsibility fee of $500 for two consecutive years. Ultimately, this is a cost that many people simply cannot afford.

While driver responsibility fees for driving without a valid license or proof of insurance were eliminated in 2012, some people had their driver’s licenses suspended because they failed to pay off old driver responsibility fees. This new law would allow these individuals to complete community service and get their licenses restored by simply paying the standard $125 fee.

Those who are eligible to participate in the new program will be mailed a notice from the Treasury, and allowed to complete 10 hours of community service which will in effect “pay off” one delinquent assessment.

Established over a decade ago, driver responsibility fees were established to balance the state’s budget, however many have come to see these fees as a “death penalty” for motorists who have a difficult if not impossible time paying court costs, fines, and fees in order to legally drive to work. Secretary of State Ruth Johnson called the new law a “common sense” option.

Continue reading

Dwight Howard, center for the Houston Rockets and former L.A. Laker recently had his driver’s license suspended for failure to pay a fine for allegedly running a red light on April 14, according to news reports. The problem is, Howard is accused of running a red light in Winter Park, FL on that day – and a spokeswoman for the Rockets claims that Howard was in Texas playing basketball that day. traffic-lights-in-the-evening-1078398-m

According to Yahoo! News, Howard kept his Florida home after playing for the Orlando Magic until late July of this year when he sold it for $3.4 million. Howard’s vehicle was allegedly caught on a red light camera which captures images of vehicles that proceed through an intersection after the light has turned red. At that point, a citation is mailed to the owner of the vehicle. The spokeswoman said she did not know if Howard had a car in Orlando that other people may be authorized to drive.

Another report at the Orlando Sentinel states that while living in the Orlando area, Howard had received as many as 10 tickets for running red lights, along with speeding tickets and other citations. This information was gather from Reuters, according to the news report. Ultimately, Howard paid all fines with the exception of the ticket for running a red light in April – which seems to be impossible if he was in Texas playing basketball at the time.

While having your driver’s license suspended for one or more DUI’s is serious, having your license revoked is much more serious. In Michigan, an individual who is convicted of driving under the influence on multiple occasions within a specific time period may face license revocation. When this happens, the process of getting your driving privilege restored is a long and laborious road. It is critical you obtain the legal guidance of a skilled Michigan driver’s license reinstatement attorney to ensure you have the best chance for success. curves-ahead-259197-m

Certain conditions must be proved to hearing officers with the DAAD, or Driver Assessment and Appeal Division. One of the most important things you must prove is that you have been sober for at least one year. There are several documents used to support your claims of sobriety, including letters written on your behalf (community proofs), a Substance Abuse Evaluation, and more. There is also a drug test that must be passed before hearing officers will even consider restoring your license. An experienced lawyer will guide you through the process to ensure you have all of the documentation, that it is properly formed, and that everything is in order so that you have the best opportunity for having your license restored.

With success, you will likely be granted a restricted license. This license will allow you to drive for specific reasons, or during certain times of day. A restricted license allows you to drive to and from work or school, to alcohol/drug counseling or rehabilitation, etc. In addition, it is often required that the person have an ignition interlock device installed for one year. After that time period, if you have complied with all rules regarding restricted driving, you will likely be given full driving privileges again.

Continue reading

In the early morning ours of Thursday, September 4, a Potsdam, NY woman was charged with driving on a suspended license, according to North Country Now. The incident occurred on Clarkson Avenue at about 2:30 a.m. 27-year-old Kara Page was officially charged with second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation. She is scheduled to appear on September 12 at the Potsdam Village Court on the charge, according to police. new-york-times-square-1443347-m

In New York, second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle is a misdemeanor offense. This is the charge typically given when an individual drives on a license that was suspended because of operating under the influence, or when a person is charged with driving while suspended while having prior convictions that occurred within the past 18 months. The penalties a person may face depend on certain factors, and may include fines of between $500 and $1,000, along with jail time of up to 180 days, probation, or both.

Driving on a suspended license is a serious offense. In Michigan, those caught operating a vehicle without a valid driver’s license face serious consequences which vary, depending on whether it is a first, second, third, or subsequent offense. As experienced Michigan driver’s license reinstatement attorneys, we understand that there are circumstances in which an individual has no choice but to drive, such as in an emergency situation. However, many people get behind the wheel just as if their license has never been suspended, thinking they will not get caught. This is extremely risky behavior, as you could face jail time, substantial fines, and vehicle immobilization if caught. In addition, you could have your license permanently revoked.

A second offense driving with a suspended license in Michigan will result in a fine of up to $1,000 and potential jail time of one year. Your vehicle may also be immobilized for up to six months.

Continue reading

Earlier this month, a Grand Rapids woman, 36-year-old Crystal Louise Rincones, allegedly drove the wrong way on U.S. 131 resulting in a head-on collision that seriously injured the driver of the other vehicle, 49-year-old Vickers Charles Hansen. Now, Secretary of State records indicate that Rincones was not supposed to be driving, as her license had been suspended on many occasions over the past 16 years. iStock_000004337124

According to a news article at Mlive.com, Rincones’ driver’s license had been suspended for various reasons over the years, including numerous DUI convictions, and failure to pay parking tickets and reinstatement fees. The accident occurred on August 5 in the southbound lanes of U.S. 131 near 36th Street, according to police.

According to Rincones’ driving record, she had periodic license restrictions so that she could drive to treatment of what was described as a “serious medical condition,” although the nature of the medical condition was not disclosed.

Since 1998, Rincones has been arrested for operating while impaired and driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol content, cited for driving with no proof of insurance, unpaid parking tickets, driving while license suspended, a drug offense, speeding, and more. Just last year, she was involved in a one-car accident that resulted in the injury of three people; this was after Grand Rapids had put a hold on her license due to parking tickets that remained unpaid.

Following the August 5 crash, Rincones was said to be in critical condition; she was transported to Spectrum Health Butterworth Hospital.

Driving on a suspended or revoked license in the state of Michigan is very serious. It is understandable that there are emergency situations in which someone whose license has been suspended must drive, however it appears that Rincones has a reckless disregard when it comes to the law. Many people believe that driving is a “right,” when in fact it is not a right but a privilege.

Whether a drivers license is suspended or revoked due to operating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, because of unpaid traffic tickets or unpaid child support, or due to a drug offense, it is never advisable to drive on a suspended license. You believe you won’t get caught, but it is not worth the risk. You cannot control other motorists, and could be involved in an accident that although not your fault, will reveal the fact that your driver’s license is suspended.

Continue reading

As strange as it sounds, a Portland man recently found out his driver’s license had been suspended just weeks earlier when he was pulled over by police. Kevin Berry, who though he was being pulled over for speeding, was informed by the police officer that his license had been suspended because of an unpaid traffic ticket dating back to 1981. 1-1430625-5-m

Berry was pulled over in Milwaukie when he learned that his driver’s license had been suspended on July 17. Not sure of whether police new what they were talking about, he checked with the DMV who confirmed the license suspension. How did this happen? A misspelling of Berry’s name at the DMV was the problem, according to a spokesperson who said that Berry’s name had mistakenly been spelled as “Berdy” when the record for the ticket was created.

A warning letter was sent to Berry about the driver’s license suspension in July, however Berry had just moved and did not receive the warning. Because the statute of limitations is no longer valid after 33 years, the DMV said that all Berry has to do is pay $75 to get his license reinstated, and that he does not have to pay the ticket – but Berry disagrees. He says “It’s the principle,” and believes he should not be responsible for paying the fee since the typo was the error of the DMV.

News reports at KATU and Newser do not indicate if the issue has been resolved.

Michigan driver’s license reinstatement attorneys no doubt hear some very strange stories, but this one tops them all. Berry never receives the first warning letter that his license will be suspended for non-payment of the ticket because of the misspelling of his name. Then, last month when another letter is sent out to inform him of the suspension, he has just moved and the letter does not get forwarded to his new address. Hopefully things will be resolved fairly.

Continue reading

Contact Information