Two South Haven individuals were recently arrested on multiple charges including carrying an unregistered handgun and possession of marijuana, according to news reports at Mlive.com. The couple, a 38-year-old man and 36-year-old woman, were walking in Geneva Township when they were stopped by Van Buren County sheriff’s deputies.
Deputies reportedly were responding to reports of a domestic dispute between the two, who were found walking in the roadway at about 2:30 on Saturday afternoon in the 66000 block of 8th Avenue. When deputies questioned the couple, both denied that a domestic assault had occurred. Deputies also said they did not find any physical evidence that an assault had taken place, however the woman did have marijuana in her possession. The man was in possession of a .22 caliber handgun which was tucked inside his waistband in a holster.
Investigators stated that the man admitted to firing a shot at his home before leaving, but said that he was taking the handgun to show to a friend. Further investigation revealed the man has an extensive criminal history and is a known felon.
Both individuals’ names were being withheld pending their arraignments. The man was charged with carrying a concealed weapon violation, possession of an unregistered handgun, and felon in possession of a firearm. The woman was charged with marijuana possession, according to police.
Marijuana possession is a serious drug offense in Michigan. In most cases, a first-time offender will face misdemeanor charges, and if convicted be subject to a maximum of one year in jail and fines of up to $2,000. However, there are many factors which may impact the criminal penalties an individual faces when charged with marijuana possession. For example, if it is determined that you are growing marijuana or are in possession of plants, you may face felony charges which will result in harsher penalties. Criminal penalties may also be enhanced if an individual is found to be in possession of marijuana in close proximity to a park, school, or church. Michigan Penal Code 333.7401 dictates that those convicted of cultivating marijuana will face fines of as much as $20,000 along with up to four years in prison.
Regardless of how minor or serious a drug offense may seem, it is important to consult with an experienced Michigan drug crime lawyer right away. Your freedom, career, and reputation may be in jeopardy; your attorney will work to fight the charges against you in an effort to protect your freedom and help you avoid serious criminal penalties.