Spokane Police Car Rear Ended by Teen Who Was Arrested on DUI and Drug Charges

Spokane Police Department photo

On Tuesday May 13, an 18-year-old Spokane girl was arrested and charged with DUI after she allegedly rear ended a Spokane Police car at a stop light on Division Street, according to a news report at KXLY.com. Savannah Ashby is accused of crashing into the back of the patrol car while police were stopped at the stoplight located at Division Street and Wellesley Avenue. While no one was seriously injured in the incident, authorities say that Ashby not only was driving under the influence, but also had methamphetamine in her possession.

Ashby’s vehicle struck another car after hitting the patrol car, according to the Spokesman. She was booked into the county jail at about 2 a.m. on the 13th and charged with driving under the influence and possession of a controlled substance. Ashby was scheduled to appear in court on the afternoon of May 13th.

In Michigan, anyone who is determined to be operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, liquor, or drugs and who is involved in an accident may be charged with OUIL causing property damage. It is illegal to operate a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of higher than 0.08% in Michigan. Further, anyone younger than 21 years of age may not operate a vehicle with a BAC of greater than 0.02%. This young lady would be facing a world of legal problems in Michigan, considering her age and the fact that not only did she allegedly hit a patrol car and another motorist, she was found to be in possession of methamphetamine.

Individuals in Michigan who are convicted of DUI resulting in property damage will face damaging criminal penalties which include a suspended driver’s license, up to 93 days in jail, fines, community service, and more. In addition, if someone is injured those accused may face a personal injury lawsuit or other civil action by the victim. Property damage is another concern, as the property owner may decide to seek some form of restitution.

Those younger than 21 years of age may be arrested for DUI under the state’s zero tolerance law if accused individual’s BAC is found to be higher than 0.02% but less than 0.08%. This will not result in jail time, but will likely result in substantial fines, community service, and other penalties.

Ultimately, anyone accused of driving under the influence whether or not an accident and/or property damage results should consult with a capable and aggressive Michigan DUI defense attorney. It is important to protect your legal rights, reputation, and to avoid a criminal conviction and resulting penalties when possible.

Contact Information