Recently, a father and two sons were arrested in Fletcher, VT after one of the sons was involved in a single-vehicle rollover that left him with injuries.
According to WPTZ News Channel 5, 22-year-old Joshua B. Woodward’s vehicle rolled on Cambridge Road near Metcalf Pond Road in Fletcher. Woodward was hospitalized, however after his release he was charged with his second DUI. Police said that he was operating under the influence, and that a preliminary breath test indicated his blood alcohol level was three times over the legal limit. It was also discovered that his driver’s license had been criminally suspended.
Woodward’s father, Brian, and his brother, Nicholas, were also arrested for DUI after attempting to drive up to the scene of the accident to check on Joshua. Initially, 19-year-old Nicholas drove up to see how his brother was when police noticed he was under the influence. While police were administering a breath test and arresting Nicholas for DUI, Brian got behind the wheel to get closer to the scene of the wreckage; this is when police noticed that he, too, appeared to be impaired. He was ordered by police to stop the vehicle, at which point he as given a breath test which indicated his blood alcohol content was also three times over the legal limit.
Nicholas’s DUI arrest was his second in two weeks, according to news reports. All three men were scheduled to appear on the charges in Franklin District Court.
While this is somewhat of a bizarre story, driving while under the influence of alcohol is a very serious problem across the country. In Michigan, driving with a blood alcohol level of more than twice the legal limit of .08 percent can lead to “super drunk” charges. At .17 percent, an individual is considered to be Super Drunk and may face charges for a high BAC (blood alcohol content) offense. In this situation, the individual will face enhanced criminal penalties if convicted.
A Super Drunk conviction will results in penalties that include up to 180 days in jail, possible community service, fines of up to $700, driver’s license suspension for 45 days, followed by 320 days of restricted driving, and more. If it is a second or third DUI offense, the consequences become even more serious.
Anyone who is arrested for driving under the influence must consult with a skilled Michigan DUI attorney who will challenge the evidence, and work diligently to secure good results.