Driving on a Suspended License in Michigan – What You Need to Know

If you are caught driving on a suspended license, whether you knew it was suspended or not, you could be facing serious consequences. Michigan driver’s license restoration attorneys know that you potentially face a criminal charge if you are found to be driving on a license that has been suspended or revoked, regardless of the reason.

The fact that you were not aware that your license was suspended is not always an effective legal defense. If you were not aware that your driver’s license was in fact suspended, you may wonder how or why you lost your driving privileges. Generally, those who are not aware of license suspension have committed an offense (or multiple offenses) which may include driving without insurance, reckless driving, DUI or OWI, or even moving violations or unpaid traffic tickets/citations. You could absolutely face jail time if caught driving with a suspended or revoked license.

What is the difference between license suspension and revocation?

When your driver’s license is suspended, it will be automatically reinstated once the suspension period is up. You will likely be required to pay any driver responsibility fees that apply, and a $125 reinstatement fee.

Having your license revoked is far more serious, and having your license restored requires a process that is quite complex and includes reinstatement hearings, a mountain of paperwork and more. It is advised that you have a Michigan driver’s license restoration attorney guide you through this process for the best possible outcome.

What happens when you are caught driving on a suspended license?

You may be facing any number of penalties, depending upon the circumstances. When an accident is involved and you were driving with a suspended license, you may face felony charges; depending upon whether anyone was injured, you could face fines of as much as $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison. Even worse, someone could lose their life in an accident – and you could be required to pay as much as $10,000 and/or spend up to 15 years behind bars.

Other than monetary fines and/or jail/prison time, your auto insurance provider is apt to raise your insurance rates and could even decide it’s best to completely drop coverage.

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, or perhaps you have just found out that you have been driving on a suspended license after being ticketed or involved in an accident, consult with a capable and confident Michigan driver’s license attorney right away for skilled legal guidance and support.

Contact Information