On Monday June 9, Atlanta police officer Daryl Vann was pulled over after he was spotted making an improper lane change and speeding, according to reports at the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. He is now on administrative leave pending investigation of DUI charges that were also leveled against him in addition to speeding and improper lane change.
The incident occurred on Interstate 85 just north of Pleasant Hill Road according to the article, which stated that Vann was exceeding the speed limit by more than 20 mph. He was spotted by a Gwinnett County DUI Task Force member who noticed his Nissan Altima speeding and driving erratically at about 2 a.m. Vann has been with the Atlanta Police Department for three years.
Vann allegedly failed a breathalyzer test and sobriety test; his BAC (blood alcohol content) was reported to be .1, just above the state’s legal limit of 0.08%. Vann did not deny having drank a few beers, although he could not remember exactly how many he had and told the officer he was rushing home. The Gwinnett officer claims that Vann asked for professional courtesy, however it was declined as the arresting officer told Vann that he had arrested officers in the past for DUI, and that there was no discretion in drunken driving cases.
While the news report does not indicate whether it was Vann’s first DUI, the criminal penalties in Georgia for a conviction include a mandatory minimum of 24 hours in jail, fines of $300 to $1,000, license suspension, 40 hours of community service, and more.
Drunken driving is a very serious offense in any state today. In Michigan, individuals found guilty of a first DUI offense will face penalties that include 360 hours of community service, up to 93 days in jail, driver’s license suspension, and fines of up to $500 among other penalties. While most first-time offenders will not face jail time in Michigan, the consequences are still serious. A criminal record will likely affect employment opportunities; having your driver’s license suspended will impact your life far more than you could imagine. You may also be required to complete a court-approved alcohol education program.
If you have been charged with operating while intoxicated for a first, second, or third time, consult with an experienced and aggressive Michigan DUI attorney immediately. Your lawyer will work toward obtaining the best possible results in your situation.