On November 16, 37-year-old Nyeesha Gonzalez was allegedly driving drunk when she caused an accident and left the scene, according to news reports. Gonzalez was also driving on a revoked license.
Gonzalez was driving in the area of Quebec and 14th Avenue in Denver when she caused an accident that left another person injured. After leaving the scene, she was found a short time later, and allegedly resisted arrest. She has been formerly charged with leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury, resisting arrest, aggravated driving after revocation, and two counts of vehicular assault.
Gonzalez remained in custody on a $2,000 bond as of November 19, and was scheduled to appear in court on November 21. Reports do not indicate why Gonzalez’s driver’s license had been revoked.
In the state of Michigan, driving on a revoked license is a serious offense. Unlike a suspended license, a revoked driver’s license requires that the offender go through the restoration process, and even then reinstatement may be denied. The restoration process may involve a huge amount of paperwork, reinstatement hearings with the DLAD (Driver’s License Appeal Division) and other complex issues. The penalties an individual may be subject to for driving on a revoked license depend on whether it is a first offense, or subsequent offense. A first offense may result in a fine of up to $500 along with a maximum of 93 days in jail. A second or subsequent conviction may result in fines of up to $1,000, and a maximum of one year in jail/prison.
Whether your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked due to multiple traffic violations, DUI, failure to pay child support, or for other reasons, it is important that you work with a Michigan driver’s license restoration attorney who is experienced and skilled in the process of having your driving privilege restored. Having a license reinstated when it has been revoked due to multiple DUI’s is particularly challenging, as you must provide a large amount of documentation and submit to an evaluation to prove to the hearing officers your dedication to remaining sober. Do not face this process alone, as you only get once chance each year to try to get your driver’s license back!