Recently, a man was pulled over by Dearborn police after it was noticed he was driving on a flat tire. Upon stopping the driver of the 1998 Dodge Ram, it was discovered he was driving a vehicle with stolen license plates, and that his driver’s license was suspended.
The incident took place on the afternoon of December 17, when an officer pulled the driver over in an area close to Fairlane Mall at Town Center Drive and Northwood. After running a check of the license plate with the Law Enforcement Information Network, it was determined the plate was stolen, and belonged to a Ford pickup truck. The driver later admitted that the license plate had been stolen from a neighbor’s vehicle because his son wanted to drive the truck. The man’s son was not present when police pulled the driver over. He also admitted his driver’s license had been suspended after initially telling the officer he did not have his license with him.
The driver was arrested for possessing stolen property and driving on a suspended license; the truck was impounded.
Michigan driver’s license reinstatement attorneys know that driving on a suspended license is not uncommon. Many individuals whose licenses have been suspended take chances, believing they won’t get caught. Many do not get caught, however it is a huge risk to take considering the possible consequences.
Driving is a necessity in today’s society. Not having the privilege to drive creates a substantial hardship; most of us take our right to drive for granted, jumping in the car any time we need to run to the store, pick the kids up from school, sports practice, or a friend’s house, or simply to go for a weekend drive. When your license is suspended, you do not have this privilege. The thought that you can drive to your destination without getting caught is indeed enticing.
What happens if you are caught driving on a suspended license? If it is your first offense, you could face up to 93 days in jail along with a $500 fine and driver responsibility fees for two consecutive years. A second offense will leave you facing up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, vehicle immobilization, and driver responsibility fees. Along with any criminal penalties, additional license sanctions may be imposed; essentially, your license could be suspended for double the original length of time, or even permanently revoked.
If your driver’s license has been suspended, you may have options. Consult with an experienced Michigan driver’s license restoration attorney with a proven track record for having clients’ driving privileges restored.