In the state of Michigan, the most common reasons for an individual’s driver’s license being suspended are DUI or a conviction for leaving the scene of an accident. However, your license can be suspended once you accumulate so many points on your driving record because of other traffic offenses such as speeding, reckless driving, failure to yield, improper passing, and other offenses.
So, how many points must accumulate before your license will be suspended? The easy answer is 12, but let’s explain the process a bit more clearly.
Once a motorist in Michigan has accumulated four points on his or her record within a 2-year time period, he/she will received a letter from the Secretary of State alerting you to the fact the number of points you have is higher than usual. Accumulate eight points, and you will receive another letter informing you that you are getting closer to having your driver’s license suspended, and warning against the continued violation of traffic laws. Once you have reached 12 points on your driving record, you must submit to several tests and undergo a driver reexamination to determine if your license should be suspended. Ultimately, most people who go through this process will have their license restricted, suspended, or even revoked for a number of months or even years.
How many points do motorists accumulate for certain traffic violations? Here are a few examples:
- Improper passing, 3 points
- Reckless driving, 6 points
- Speeding up to 10 mph over the limit, 2 points
- Speeding between 11 and 15 mph over the limit, 3 point
- Speeding at 16 mph or more over the limit, 4 points
- Refusal of a chemical test (breath/blood test for DUI), 6 points
- Failure to stop at traffic signal or stop sign, 3 points
- Driving with open container of alcohol in vehicle, 2 points
- Vehicular manslaughter, 6 points
Living life without the privilege to drive is extremely difficult, as you can imagine. We are all used to hopping in our cars and going to work, school, church, to a friend’s house, shopping – basically, wherever we want to go. When your license is suspended or revoked, you know longer have this privilege.
If your license has been suspended due to DUI, non-payment of child support, too many points on your driving record, or for any reason at all, work with a skilled and capable Michigan driver’s license attorney who will focus on getting you back on the road.