On Thursday, December 4, 56-year-old Patricia Ann Robertson, a third grade teacher at Earl Warren Elementary School in Sacramento, was on her way to school when she missed a turn which resulted in her Mustang crashing into several vehicles and damaging two homes.
According to a news article at News10, Robertson has been placed on administrative leave from the school as an investigation begins into the crash, which police believe was a result of DUI. California Highway Police Officer Rick Turner said that a preliminary alcohol test performed on the teacher resulted in a reading that was three times the legal limit of .08 percent. At the time of the news report, Robertson’s blood test results were still pending.
Robertson told the officers that she attempted to make a right turn as she was driving westbound on Deddington Way, however she missed the turn and continued straight. This resulted in her Mustang sideswiping one car and striking another in a driveway, which pushed the car in the driveway into a home. Robertson’s Mustang continued forward before veering to the right and eventually crashing into the home next door to the one that had already been struck. John Sandu, the owner of the home Robertson struck, said that she had been speeding through the neighborhood for years, and that he had yelled at her on several occasions to slow down because there were children in the vicinity.
There were no injuries. According to court records, Robertson was arrested for driving under the influence in January of 2011; she pleaded no contest to the charge. She was arrested on DUI charges and booked into the Sacramento County Jail.
This was Robertson’s second DUI offense within four years, if the charges stand. In the state of Michigan, anyone who is convicted of driving under the influence for a second time within seven years of a first conviction will face enhanced penalties. An individual’s driver’s license will be suspended for one year if convicted of DUI for a second time in a seven year time span. In addition, the minimum jail time to be served is five days, and as much as one year. Fines of up to $1,000 are also possible, along with 30 to 90 days of community service, and possibly the requirement to attend a DUI school.
As you can see, the administrative and criminal penalties for a second DUI conviction are extremely serious. If you are facing charges for driving under the influence, whether for a first time or subsequent offense, work with a skilled and capable Michigan DUI attorney who will fight to help prevent loss of your freedom and damaging criminal penalties.