Rhode Island Middle School Teacher Has Driver’s License Suspended, Charged with DUI

Just over a week ago, 51-year-old Lincoln Middle School teacher Christine Clarke had her driver’s license suspended after being accused of drunken driving, according to NBC News Channel 10. Clarke is a history teacher at the school, and was charged with DUI in February. drunk-driving-75579-m

Police responded to the accident after receiving reports that Clarke had crossed the center lane while driving north on New River Road in Lincoln; she then allegedly struck a mailbox and plowed into a snow bank. One police officer said that Clarke’s speech was mumbled, and her eyes bloodshot; he also detected a strong odor of alcohol.

The teacher said she was coming from the school where she teaches, however police located two empty bottles of vodka in the front seat of Clarke’s car. In addition to being charged with DUI, she was charged with refusal to submit to a chemical test and refusal to submit to a chemical breath test.

A judge suspended her driver’s license on March 10 after her pretrial hearing was postponed.

In Michigan, individuals who are charged with DUI also have their drivers licenses suspended. As appears to be the case in Rhode Island, a person may also have his or her driver’s license suspended for refusing to submit to a breath test. In fact, refusal to take a breath test in Michigan can result in drivers license suspension for up to two years.

While it is understandable that law makers and the general public want to keep drunk drivers and the dangers associated with them off the roads, having your driver’s license suspended or revoked will create serious hardships. In Michigan, a first-time DUI offender will have his or her license suspended or restricted for 6 months. This may not seem like that long of a time period, but it is when your driving is limited to certain destinations (such as to and from work) or to certain hours of the day.

If your license has been suspended due to DUI, refusal of a chemical test, reckless driving, or for some other reason, contact an experienced Michigan driver’s license reinstatement attorney right away. A skilled and capable lawyer can help get you back on the road, however the process is a complicated one you do not want to face alone.