Saline Police To Charge Woman Under Super Drunk Law

A 51-year-old woman was taken into custody by the Saline Police on a suspicion of drunk driving. She was released pending charges, although police anticipate she will be charged by the Washtenaw County Prosecutor’s office with a super-drunk driving offense.

If you have been arrested on a suspicion of any drunk driving offense, it is critical to contact an experienced Michigan drunk driving defense lawyer immediately to preserve your driving privileges and begin preparing your defense.

Here, the woman’s breath test registered a blood alcohol level of .217, above Michigan’s legal limit of .08. Under Michigan’s super drunk driving law, drivers with a BAC of over 0.17 face stiffer penalties. If convicted, driving is prohibited for 45 days. First-time offenders must then install an ignition interlock device on their vehicles before they may drive again. Potential jail time may be double that of a standard DUI.

In every drunk driving situation, an aggressive drunk driving defense lawyer may be able to reduce or even eliminate the potential penalties. It may be possible to challenge breathalyzer tests – in some cases the machinery may be faulty or read improperly. The timing of the breathalzyer exam may also be flawed, leading to inaccurate results. Reasons for the stop may also be questioned, along with any field sobriety and chemical test results. With super drunk driving laws imposing significant penalties it is even more important to fight trumped up charges and protect yourself against substantial penalties.


For more information or if you have been charged with super drunk driving or any other Michigan drunk driving offense, contact the aggressive drunk driving defense lawyers at Grabel & Associates for an immediate response.

Contact Information